Pga championship 2018 frequently asked questions – golf digest

This time a year ago, the short-term future of the PGA Championship was still uncertain, with rumblings about the PGA of America weighing a possible move of its oldest event from its traditional August spot on the calendar to May. While the move seemed likely, it wasn’t clear when it would go into effect, or how it might impact the rest of the PGA Tour schedule, most notably the Players Championship’s place on the calendar.

As we close in on the 2018 PGA Championship, we now have a clear picture not only the PGA Championship’s future, but the 2018-’19 PGA Tour scheduled, which was revealed in early July. The key takeaways: the PGA’s move to May starts in 2019, the Players Championship will be played in March and the FedEx Cup Playoffs have been reduced to three events, ending the tour season in late August.

With all the dominos having fallen, it makes this year’s PGA Championship, the 100th edition of the championship, the final one that the PGA of America will play in August. By all accounts, the move to May has been well-received, and could give the PGA more prominence as the season’s second major after the Masters. But with venues in the Northern part of the country looming—Bethpage Black in 2019, Oak Hill in 2023, specifically—the weather (cold and soggy) could still be a key factor as it has been in August of late (hot and humid).

The 100th PGA Championship is being held at Bellerive Country Club in Town and County, Mo., a suburb west of St. Louis, on Aug. 9-12. It will be the second time Bellerive has hosted the PGA Championship, the last coming in 1992 when World Golf Hall-of-Famer Nick Price won the championship, the first of his three career majors, by three strokes.

From 1916 to 1957, the PGA Championship was a match-play event with a stroke-play qualifier, and it was not uncommon for players to play more than 200 holes in seven days. Starting in 1958, the PGA Championship switched to the standard 72-hole, stroke-play format. America’s Dow Finsterwald won the first stroke-play version of the event in 1958 at Llanerch Country Club in Havertown, Pa.

Not in the modern era of the PGA Tour. According to, the best performance since 1970 by a club professional playing in the PGA Championship was a third place finish in 1971 by Tommy Bolt, a former tour pro who had retired from the tour. The last top 10 also came from a former tour pro—a very famous one—turned club professional: Sam Snead in 1973. Only one club professional has finished inside the top 20 in the last 30 years, Jay Overton in 1988 at Oak Tree. Only two have made the cut in the last six years, Omar Uresti a year ago at Quail Hollow, and Brian Gaffney in 2015 at Whistling Straits.

The PGA champion receives the Wanamaker Trophy, the largest trophy of the four majors. In addition, the winner also receives $1.89 million of the PGA Championship’s $10.5 million purse, automatic invites into all three of the other majors and the Players Championship for the next five years, PGA Tour membership for the next five years and European Tour membership for the next seven years. They also become eligible to compete in the PGA Championship for life.

There are three men in golf history who have won each of the other three major championships (the Masters, the U.S. Open and the British Open) but have not completed the career Grand Slam by winning the PGA. They are Arnold Palmer, Tom Watson and Jordan Spieth. Spieth is only 25 so he has plenty of time to try and complete the Slam. This is the second year he will be playing the PGA with the chance to do so.

Revived in 2014 after previously being held in 1984, the PGA of America hosts Long Drive Competition on the Tuesday of PGA week for players in the field. At the Bellerive, the Competition will take place on the 10th hole, with players during the course of their practice round encouraged to participate. The winner receives a replica of a money clip given to Jack Nicklaus when he was the Long Drive event at the PGA in 1963. The winner also will be granted a charitable donation of $25,000 to a designated charity, with the second- and third-place finishers getting $15,000 and $10,000.