Bhs news – bartlesville high school

Loyd highlighted a new #truitylovesteachers hashtag and announced that Truity would once again be giving every teacher in the school district a 50-dollar bill to spend as he or she sees fit. Truity’s Business Development Specialists Sara Freeman and Nicole McKinney joined Superintendent McCauley to hand out the 50-dollar bills to teachers during the back to school teacher meetings this week. Teachers who use the hashtag and post a photo of themselves holding their 50-dollar bill are entered into a drawing to win an additional $50.

Anyone with a Truity Credit Union checking account can sign up for the Bruin Spirit Card and receive $50 in his or her account, as well as $50 for BPS. A portion of the processing fees on each transaction also goes to the schools.

The credit union has offered the Bruin Spirit Card since 2009, which has raised over $70,000 to date for student activities and athletics.

For teachers, Truity sponsors recruitment and retention events and classroom grants through the public school foundation. The district is truly grateful to Truity for being such a generous community partner by helping our schools. Despite record teacher salary increases, Oklahoma is still dead-last in the region in per-pupil spending. The lack of operational dollars for the public schools means larger class sizes, fewer course offerings, and a lack of instructional supplies. Truity is helping address that last problem for Bartlesville teachers.

Warren Neff, who teaches physics and a STEM math course at Bartlesville High School, has been named a finalist for the 2019 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year honor. On July 12, State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister announced 12 finalists for the position at an EngageOK conference in Norman. Hofmeister said, “These 12 teachers represent some of Oklahoma’s finest educators who are making a difference in the lives of our students every day.”

Mr. Neff was named the Bartlesville District Teacher of the Year in March and his application packet for the state honor was selected for finalist status by a panel of educators, legislators, and members of business and nonprofit organizations. As a finalist, he will have to submit a video of his teaching, additional information, and be interviewed by a selection committee. The 2019 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year will be announced on September 18 in Oklahoma City.

In the 2017-18 school year, Mr. Neff began teaching Inquiry Physics and Advanced Placement Physics 1 at Bartlesville High School, along with a STEM Advanced Math Applications course he devised a few years ago. He had spent the previous 14 years teaching mathematics at Bartlesville High School and Bartlesville Mid-High. He holds both a bachelor’s and master’s degree in physics from Emporia State University.

Before embarking on his teaching career, Neff was employed by Phillips 66 doing work in seismology. He has used that experience to inform his teaching and in recruiting dozens of speakers from area industries to present to STEM, math, and science students at the high school. His industry connections helped him secure a $1.9 million grant from Halliburton for sophisticated software and seismology data for his students to analyze; something previously only available to college students. His STEM class and the Halliburton software and data are held in the Phillips 66 Innovation Labs at the high school.

Other finalists for the state honor are Catherine Adams from Piedmont, Natalie Fielden from Sapulpa, Shari Gateley from Putnam City, Amy Greenshaw from Jenks, Carol Hunsperger from Grove, Teresa Lansford from Norman, Jenny Morphis from Hilldale, Rebecca Oglesby from Yukon, Jessica Robinson from Altus, Michelle Shelton from Noble, and V. Jannean Thompson from Berryhill.